Minneapolis Sexual Assault Attorney & Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer
While all sex crimes are taken very seriously, sexual assault is considered to be especially severe. Often long prison sentences result from a sexual assault conviction. Not much proof that the incident even happened is needed for an accusation of a sex crime to make it to trial in Minnesota. This is why you need a Minneapolis & St. Paul twin cities sexual assault attorney who has experience with a wide range of sexual assault cases. Jennifer Speas has more than 20 years of experience defending Minnesotans throughout Minneapolis, St. Paul, and the entire Twin Cities against allegations of sex crimes and helping them get past the ordeal and back to living their lives by means of acquittal, reduction in charges, or even dismissal of the case.
Sexual Assault Charges
There are numerous charges for sexual assault. The punishment for these crimes depends on the charge if you are convicted. These charges are:
- First Degree– If the alleged victim is more than 36 months younger than the alleged perpetrator, under 13 years of age, or between 13 and 16 years old; there was fear of great harm; a weapon was used; the alleged victim was injured; or a significant relationship existed between the two parties, such as being family that lives together.
- Second Degree– The age differences are the same as 1st degree but 13 to 16 years of age requires that the alleged perpetrator not be more than 48 months older than the victim or in a position of authority. Other criteria include fear of harm, armed with a weapon, physical injury; and a significant relationship, such as being a family member in the same home.
- Third Degree– The age differences apply as they do with Second Degree, but the accused is more than 24 months older than the alleged victim. Other elements include force or coercion, the accused is in a position of authority, and the alleged victim is mentally or physically impaired.
- Fourth Degree– The alleged victim is under 13 years of age, the accused is more than 36 months older than the victim, the victim is between 13 and 16 and the accused is more than 48 months older, or the accused is in a position of authority; Mental or physical capacity of the alleged victim exists; there was force or coercion; or there is a significant relationship between the alleged victim and the accused.
- Fifth Degree– Nonconsensual sexual contact has occurred, although this contact does not have to be physical. A person exposing themselves can be charged with fifth-degree sexual assault.
You will need to call your Minneapolis & St. Paul immediately if you have been accused of any of these crimes so that you have the best possibility of avoiding a conviction or having punishment lessened.
Penalties For Sexual Assault
The penalties for sexual assault are very strict and severe. If convicted of first-degree sexual assault, you face up to a $40,000 fine and up to 30 years of imprisonment. A conviction of the second degree carries a fine up to $35,000 and a prison sentence of up to 25 years. If convicted of third-degree sexual assault, you could be facing fines upwards of $30,000 and possibly 15 years in prison. In some cases in which the accused is not more than four years older but more than two years older than the victim, if convicted you may spend 5 years in prison. A conviction of fourth-degree sexual assault carries fines up to $20,000 and possible prison time of up to 10 years. A fifth-degree charge carries a $3,000 fine and up to a year in prison. If the charge evolves into a felony, the potential prison sentence increases to up to 5 years and the fine could be up to $10,000. If you have prior convictions on your record, the charge can be aggravated.
Contact A Minneapolis & St. Paul Sexual Assault Lawyer
If you have found yourself facing allegations of sexual assault, it is essential that you contact a lawyer and get your defense underway as quickly as possible to achieve the best result in your case. Jennifer Speas can craft a strong defense and help you stand strong against the charges you are facing. For a initial consultation to find out how the Speas Law Firm, PA can help you defend your rights, Call 612-333-6160.